9th District Legislators Vote Against ‘Rain Tax’ Measure

Feb 06, 2019

Sen. Christopher J. Connors, Assemblyman Brian E. Rumpf and Assemblywoman DiAnne C. Gove of the 9th Legislative District have all voted against a bill that would permit a county or municipality to establish and maintain a stormwater utility, which would be authorized to charge fees – commonly referred to as a “rain tax.”

“The last thing struggling taxpayers and small businesses need is yet another government entity that imposes fees,” the members of the delegation said in a joint statement. “If policy makers in Trenton feel so strongly that funding is needed for stormwater management, then the state can pony up the money.”

As they also pointed out, “This bill would have counties and municipalities serve as the taxing entity, as opposed to the state.”

The N.J. League of Municipalities, which is in favor of the legislation, noted, “When storms occur, rainwater runs off of impervious surfaces such as roads, roofs and parking lots. This water carries oils, pesticides and other chemicals and bacteria harmful to humans and the environment. Additionally, without proper stormwater management, flooding occurs; and as storms grow stronger, the risk for flooding increases. The League supports this permissive legislation as it would aid municipal governments in addressing these concerns by creating a clear source of revenue to be used to help build and improve stormwater management.”

The measure – S-1073/A-2694 – has passed both Houses of the Legislature, most recently in the Assembly on Jan. 31, and now heads to Gov. Murphy’s desk. —J.K.-H.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.