Beach Haven First Aid Squad Responded to More than 1,100 Calls in 2016

Feb 15, 2017
Courtesy of: Rose Perry Assemblywoman DiAnne C. Gove (right) swears in the new 2017 officers, (from left) Anthony Orzo Sr., president; Matt Letts, 1st sergeant, Beach Haven; Devin Menker, 2nd sergeant, Beach Haven; Deb Whitcraft, trustee; Jim Vogel, trustee; Ed Shanley, treasurer; Carole Shanley, corresponding secretary; Ken Perry, vice president and lieutenant – BH; Rose Perry, recording secretary; Shirley Harris, lieutenant – SB; Jack Casella, captain; Kevin Manna, (2nd sergeant – SB; Bob Weidmann, 1st sergeant – SB.

The Beach Haven First Aid Squad had a busy year in 2016, providing life-saving services from Ship Bottom to Holgate. The members responded to a total of 1,118 calls, which is five more than the previous year. Long Beach Township had the highest number of those calls, reaching 405. Squad members also responded to 372 calls in Beach Haven and 341 calls in Ship Bottom. Of the 12 CPR calls throughout the year, six of them were saves, according to Rose Perry, recording secretary.

Perry’s husband, Ken, was named EMT of the year during the squad’s annual installation of officers and awards ceremony held at The Engleside Inn this past month, Jan. 29.

“This annual dinner allows the opportunity to recognize the dedication of the squad membership, which is composed entirely of volunteers,” said Jack Casella, squad captain.

Ken Perry responded to 325 calls in 2016. During the installation dinner, he was selected as vice president of the squad as well as lieutenant of the Beach Haven station for 2017.

Kevin Manna, who answered 234 calls in 2016, was named driver of the year. Other members who responded to 100 or more calls in 2016 include Bob Weidmann with 318 calls; Shirley Harris, who answered 265 calls; Anthony Orzo Sr., with 261 calls; Casella, answering 253 calls; Shane Gallagher, who responded to 152 calls; and Jeff and Matt Kalczynski, who answered 100 calls each.

Surrounded by family, Casella also received a life membership award for providing more than 10 years of dedicated service. He was also named squad captain for another year.

Other 2017 officer installations included Orzo,Sr. as president, Ed Shanley as treasurer, Carol Shanley as corresponding secretary and Rose Perry as recording secretary.

Officers selected for the Ship Bottom station included Harris as lieutenant, Weidmann as first sergeant and Manna as second sergeant. Matt Letts was selected as first sergeant for the Beach Haven station along with Devin Menker as second sergeant.

The members also thanked neighboring first aid, fire and police squads for their support. A special honor was awarded to Michael Bradley, former police chief of Long Beach Township, for the assistance his officers provided under his direction to the Beach Haven First Aid Squad for many years. —K.A.E.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.