New Tuckerton Seaport and Baymen’s Museum Director Named

Feb 22, 2017
File Photo by: Pat Johnson Brooke Salvanto is the new Tuckerton Seaport and Baymen’s Museum director. She served for many years as deputy director, helping with all the Seaport events, such as the annual Easter Egg Hunt.

After eight years as the executive director of the Tuckerton Seaport and Baymen’s Museum, Paul Hart has stepped down from the day-to-day running of the museum and Deputy Director Brooke Salvanto has been promoted to museum director. Deputy Director Tim Hart is now the director of engagement, and Paul Hart will continue his support of the Seaport by serving as a trustee.

Paul Hart joined the Seaport as deputy director in July 2007, bringing with him valuable experience in education, history and the arts, said Trustee President Jeff Daum. In 2009 he became the executive director.

In a press release, Daum said he, the Tuckerton Seaport Board of Trustees and community are grateful for the inspirational role that Hart has played in the Seaport over the past nine years. “Paul Hart ignited the award-winning progress at the Tuckerton Seaport. Mr. Hart is not leaving the Seaport; he is becoming executive director emeritus.”

Three additional new board members will help shape the coming years: Bass River Mayor Debbie Buzby-Cope, local businessman Danny Pomponio and attorney Jack Ryan. They were elected by the membership to the trustee board in November.

Buzby-Cope is a licensed doctor of chiropractic. She is currently the mayor as well as director of revenue and finance for Bass River Township and has been appointed to the National Foundation for Women Legislators, the N.J. Conference of Mayors, the Pinelands Municipal Council of Mayors, the N.J. League of Municipalities and the Burlington County General Advisory Committee for Community Development Programs.

Pomponio has been owner operator of Pomponio Construction LLC for 18 years. He is president of the Pinelands Fireworks Committee and volunteers his time coaching his kids’ soccer teams. He and his children helped start the Seaport’s Community Garden, which donates all of its harvest to the Tuckerton Food Pantry for their neighbors in need.

Ryan is a self-employed attorney sole practitioner. He has been a member of the Eagleswood Township Board of Education and is a founding member of the New Jersey Surfing Hall of Fame. Ryan also acts as the surfer-in-residence at the Seaport, consulting on exhibits and leading programs on the history of surfing on the Jersey Shore.

The core Seaport staff remains intact with Jaclyn Wood as director of education and the Jersey Shore Folklife Center, Diane Hartelius as manager of grants and development, Charlene Ackerman as gift shop and membership manager, and Ron Spodofora as master boatbuilder.

Members of the Seaport’s trustee board donate their time and talent in support of the organization through oversight of finance, exhibits, buildings and grounds, programs, events and long-range planning. In addition to monthly meetings, trustees can be found working at every event and on most projects.

The four new board members join existing trustees James Allen, Grove Conrad, Daum, Vice President Tennant Magee, Joel Mahr, Secretary David Roth and Treasurer Oliver Walling. —P.J.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.