Southern Regional Girls Capture Third Straight Shore Conference Track Championship

Feb 01, 2017
Photo by: Supplied photo

The Southern Regional girls indoor track team received a bigger challenge in this year’s Shore Conference Championships than it had faced last year, but the result still was the same. The Rams won the team title, and with more points.

Unlike last year’s conference meet, when only two teams, including the Rams, scored more than 30 points, the Jan. 27 meet featured four teams scoring more than 30 and another just two points off. Nonetheless, Southern tallied 47.5 to get by Middletown North (42) en route to a third straight conference crown. St. John Vianney was third with 34 points, while Red Bank Catholic notched 32 and Howell scored 28.

Junior Taylor Mulch was the big scorer of the day, as she won the conference title in the 800-meter run with a time of 2:19.73, took second in the 1,600-meter run with a time of 5:14.86 and helped the 4x400-meter relay team of Abby Johnson, Shannon Lytle and Sabrina Woodlee place third with a time of 4:06.57, less than three seconds behind Middletown North and two seconds behind RBC.

Woodlee, a senior, was Southern’s next-highest scorer, after she not only helped in the relay, but also finished third in the 800 with a time of 2:21.41 and swiped 1.5 points by tying for fifth in the pole vault at 9 feet. Junior Morgan Koeppen also had a solid day inside the John Bennett Center in Toms River, scoring second-place points by clearing the bar at 9 feet, 6 inches in the pole vault and adding fourth-place points by blazing to a time of 9.03 seconds in the 55-meter hurdles.

Seniors Danielle Sinko and Justine Hosszu contributed four points to the Rams’ total, as Sinko placed fifth in the high jump after clearing the bar at 5 feet and Hosszu tossed the shot put 37 feet, 9¾ inches to place fifth as well.

In 2014, the Rams swiped the conference championship with 41.5 points, and last year they recorded 42.

Meanwhile, for the local boys, only the Barnegat 4x400-meter relay team scored points and put forth a fine race doing so. The crew of Nico Adorno, Ramone Davis Jr., Kirston Beaucicault and Anthony Irizarry zipped to a second-place time of 3:33.69, which ended up being just .30 behind the first-place quartet from Christian Brothers Academy, which easily won the overall team title.

David Biggy

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.